Skip to main content

All Concerts

Festival Finale. Syddansk Musikonservatorium 4 pm. Sunday 27th August 2023

Lili Boulanger was Nadia's younger sister whom Nadia considered more talented than herself.
Lili was recognized as a child prodigy and pursued a life as a gifted composer.
She was plagued with poor health from a young age
that ultimately claimed her life at the tragically young age of 24.

Francis Poulenc’s Sextet for Piano and Winds is a lighthearted and satirical piece by the composer.
The first movement has a mix of playful jazziness and melancholic melody, including a possible
reference to “come to me, my melancholy baby,” which also appears in the final movement.

Georges Enescu’s Octet for strings was hailed as an amazing accomplishment for a young man of
nineteen, and indeed it is.  Enescu wrote that he set out to create a vast work and he admitted it was
quite hard for him to achieve what he had set out to do, “No engineer putting his first suspension
bridge across a river can have agonized more than I did as I gradually filled my manuscript
paper with notes.” But the final result was truly astounding.

BUY SINGLE TICKETS7 koncerter KR.600,

Lili Boulanger  (1887 - 1979)
D'un soir triste og D 'un matin de printemps

Francis Poulenc  (1899 - 1963)
Sextet for wind quintet & piano in C major
I Allegro vivace
II Divertissement: Andantino
III Finale: Prestissimo

George Enescu   (1881 - 1955)
String Octet in C major, Op. 7 
I   Très modéré -
II  Même temps (pause) -
III  Très fougueux - moins vite - 1er mouvement - moins vite - Lentement - Plus animé -
IV  Mouvement de valse bien rythmée 

Haraldsgade 60
6700 Esbjerg,