Skip to main content
A Moonlit Walk

A Moonlit Walk

Nordby Church, Fanø. Wednesday 7th August 2024 at 7.30 pm

SINGLE TICKETS All-inclusive Festival Ticket KR. 700,-

Beethoven: Piano Trio, Op. 70 “Ghost”

Gustav Mahler: Piano Quartet in A minor

Schoenberg: Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night), Piano Trio version, originally for string sextet

A Moonlit Walk 
Join us on a magical evening of music on Wednesday, 7th August 2024 at 7:30 pm in Nordby Church, Fanø, for a concert titled “A Moonlit Walk.” This enchanting event will be a highlight of the Klassisk Sommer Festival, featuring the world-renowned Fortuny Piano Trio. The trio, consisting of Marc Heredia on piano, Joel Bardolet on violin, and Pau Codina on cello, will be joined by the talented violist Michel Camille.
The program includes a captivating selection of pieces by Beethoven, Mahler, and Schoenberg, each promising to take the audience on a profound musical journey.
Beethoven: Piano Trio, Op. 70 “Ghost”
I. Allegro vivace e con brio
II. Largo assai ed espressivo
III. Presto
Beethoven’s “Ghost” Trio earned its nickname due to the eerie and spectral quality of its second movement, “Largo assai ed espressivo.” This movement evokes a haunting atmosphere that is reminiscent of the supernatural scenes from Shakespeare’s “Macbeth.” The piece opens with a lively “Allegro vivace e con brio,” showcasing Beethoven’s masterful interplay between the piano, violin, and cello. The finale, “Presto,” brings the trio to a spirited and energetic conclusion.
Gustav Mahler: Piano Quartet in A minor
Mahler’s Piano Quartet in A minor is a rare gem in the chamber music repertoire. As Mahler’s only surviving piece of chamber music, it offers a glimpse into his early compositional style, foreshadowing the emotional depth and complexity of his later symphonic works. The single movement is rich with romantic expression and intricate textures, making it a poignant and introspective piece.Schoenberg: Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night). The Piano Trio version
of Schoenberg’s “Verklärte Nacht” is a powerful and evocative composition based on Richard Dehmel’s poem of the same name. Originally composed for string sextet, it has been transcribed for various ensembles, including the piano trio version performed at this concert. The piece narrates a story of personal transformation and redemption, expressed through Schoenberg’s lush harmonies and innovative use of chromaticism. The music captures the emotional intensity of the poem, leading the listener through a journey of despair, revelation, and ultimately, transfiguration.
Marc Heredia, a celebrated pianist, is known for his technical prowess and expressive interpretations. Trained at some of the most prestigious institutions, Heredia has performed extensively across Europe and North America. His deep understanding of the classical repertoire and his ability to bring out the nuanced emotions in each piece make him a sought-after performer in the chamber music world.
Joel Bardolet  is a violinist of extraordinary talent, recognized for his virtuosic skill and musical sensitivity. Bardolet’s performances are marked by their clarity and emotional depth, qualities that have earned him accolades in international competitions. His collaboration with other musicians in the Fortuny Piano Trio has been praised for its cohesion and interpretative insight.
Pau Codina the cellist brings a rich and resonant tone to the ensemble, his performances imbued with both power and lyricism. Codina’s dynamic playing style and his ability to seamlessly blend with his fellow musicians have made him a key member of the Fortuny Piano Trio. His contributions to the trio’s performances are integral to their captivating sound.

Michel Camille the violist joining the trio for Mahler’s Piano Quartet is renowned for his passionate and articulate playing. Camille’s versatility as a musician allows him to traverse a wide range of styles and periods, making him an ideal collaborator for this program. His addition to the ensemble for this concert brings an extra layer of depth and color to the performance.

Attending “A Moonlit Walk” promises to be an unforgettable experience. The setting of Nordby Church on the picturesque island of Fanø provides an intimate and serene atmosphere, perfectly suited to the contemplative and expressive nature of the program. The acoustics of the church will enhance the rich textures and intricate interplay of the instruments, allowing the audience to fully immerse themselves in the music.

The concert is more than just a performance; it is an exploration of the human spirit through the transformative power of music. Each piece on the program invites the listener to experience a journey, whether it be the haunting echoes of Beethoven’s “Ghost” Trio, the romantic yearnings of Mahler’s Piano Quartet, or the profound emotional landscape of Schoenberg’s “Transfigured Night.”
“A Moonlit Walk” is a celebration of classical music’s ability to convey deep emotional truths and to connect us with our own inner worlds. The Fortuny Piano Trio, with their exceptional artistry and passionate performances, promise to deliver an evening of music that will linger in the hearts and minds of the audience long after the final note has sounded. Don’t miss this unique opportunity to experience the magic of live chamber music in an enchanting setting.
en_GBEnglish (UK)