Skip to main content

Dvořák in the USA

Sønderho Church, Fanø. Wednesday 14th August 2024 at 7.30 pm

SINGLE TICKETS All-inclusive Festival Ticket KR. 700,-

Antonín Dvořák: Nocturne in B major, Op. 40, for Two Violins, Viola, Cello, and Double Bass

Georges Onslow: Wind Quintet

Antonín Dvořák: String Quintet No. 3 in E-flat major, Op. 97, B.180 “American”

Dvořák in the USA

The “Dvořák in the USA” concert at the Klassisk Sommer Festival promises an enchanting evening on August 14th, 2024, at the historic Sønderho Church, Fanø. This concert celebrates the profound influence of American culture on Antonín Dvořák’s music during his time in the USA from 1892 to 1895. Featuring internationally acclaimed musicians, the event will showcase Dvořák’s Nocturne in B major, Op. 40, and his String Quintet No. 3 in E-flat major, Op. 97, known as the “American,” alongside a Wind Quintet by Georges Onslow.

Dvořák’s immersion in the musical diversity of America, including Native American music and African American spirituals, is vividly reflected in his compositions from this period. His String Quintet No. 3, composed during a summer retreat in Spillville, Iowa, in 1893, encapsulates the blend of American elements with his inherent romantic style. This piece is celebrated for its melodic richness and expressive depth, making it a staple in chamber music repertoires.

The concert opens with Dvořák’s Nocturne in B major, a single-movement work that envelops the audience in its lush, serene melodies. This piece is a testament to Dvořák’s ability to create music that speaks directly to the heart, setting the tone for an evening of masterful compositions.

The musicians featured in this concert are a distinguished group of artists renowned for their exceptional talent and collaborative synergy. Violinist Alexi Kenney, lauded by The New York Times for his unparalleled musical approach, leads this ensemble. Kenney’s performances are known for their technical brilliance and emotional depth, making him a sought-after artist on the international stage.

Joining Kenney are violinists Tim Crawford and Maja Horvat, both celebrated for their dynamic performances and exquisite technique. Crawford, a versatile musician, has garnered acclaim for his interpretations of a wide range of repertoire, while Horvat is known for her expressive playing and vibrant stage presence.

Violists Michel Camille, Hélène Clément and Isidora Timotijevic bring their rich, warm tones to the ensemble. Camille, who also serves as the festival’s Artistic Director, is a dedicated chamber musician with a passion for exploring diverse musical landscapes. Timotijevic, with her compelling performances and insightful interpretations, adds depth to the ensemble’s sound.

The cellists Pau Codina and Eddie Pogossian contribute their profound musicality and technical prowess. Codina, a prominent figure in the European music scene, is recognized for his lyrical phrasing and powerful sound. Pogossian, known for his innovative programming and engaging performances, brings a fresh perspective to the ensemble.

Kristina Edin on double bass anchors the group with her solid, resonant tones. Edin’s versatility and command over her instrument make her a vital part of the ensemble, enriching the overall sonic palette.

The concert also features the esteemed wind quintet from the international Esbjerg Ensemble. This quintet, comprising David Daniel Dinu (oboe), Kerstin Thiele (flute), Ron Chen-Zion (clarinet), Antti Salovaara (bassoon), and Joke Wijma (horn), is known for its precise and expressive performances. Their collaboration with the string players promises a vibrant and cohesive interpretation of Onslow’s Wind Quintet.

Georges Onslow’s Wind Quintet adds a contrasting yet complementary element to the program. Onslow, a lesser-known composer of the Romantic era, crafted works that are characterized by their intricate textures and lyrical melodies. The quintet’s performance of this piece will showcase their technical skill and interpretive sensitivity.

The concert highlights Dvořák’s ability to blend his Czech heritage with the diverse musical influences he encountered in America, creating works that are both universally appealing and deeply personal. This evening promises to be a captivating journey through the rich tapestry of Dvořák’s music, brought to life by a stellar ensemble of musicians.

Attendees can expect an evening filled with lush melodies, expressive performances, and a profound connection to the historical and cultural context of Dvořák’s compositions. This concert is not only a celebration of Dvořák’s legacy but also a testament to the enduring power of music to transcend boundaries and bring people together.

Antonín Dvořák: Nocturne in B major, Op. 40, for Two Violins, Viola, Cello, and Double Bass

Georges Onslow: Wind Quintet

Antonín Dvořák: String Quintet No. 3 in E-flat major, Op. 97, B.180. “American”
Allegro non tanto
Allegro vivo
Finale: Allegro giusto

Alexi Kenney, Tim Crawford, Maja Horvat – violin, Michel Camille, Hélène Clément, Isidora Timotijevic – viola, Pau Codina, Eddie Pogossian – cello, Kristina Edin – double bass, David Daniel Dinu – oboe, Kerstin Thiele – flute, Ron Chen-Zion – clarinet, Antti Salovaara – bassoon, Joke Wijma – horn
en_GBEnglish (UK)