Skip to main content

Brahms Impassioned Romanticism

Syddansk Musikkonservatorium, Esbjerg. Sunday 25th August 2024 at 4 pm

SINGLE TICKETS All-inclusive Festival Ticket KR. 700,-

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quintet in C Major, K. 515

Maurice Ravel: Sonata for Violin and Cello

Johannes Brahms: String Sextet No. 2 in G major, Op. 36

Brahms Impassioned Romanticism

The Klassisk Sommer  Festival is proud to present “Brahms: Impassioned Romanticism,” a concert that promises to be a highlight of the musical season. Taking place at the Syddansk Musikkonservatorium in Esbjerg on Sunday, August 25, 2024, at 4 pm, this event features a distinguished lineup of internationally acclaimed musicians and a carefully curated selection of compositions by Mozart, Ravel, and Brahms.

The concert opens with Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s String Quintet in C Major, K. 515, a piece that exemplifies Mozart’s mastery during a period marked by his operatic triumphs “The Marriage of Figaro” and “Don Giovanni.” The String Quintet in C Major is renowned for its structural complexity and emotional depth. The first movement, “Allegro,” introduces the audience to a rich tapestry of melodies and harmonies, showcasing Mozart’s skill in developing intricate musical conversations between the instruments. The second movement, “Andante,” shifts to a more reflective and lyrical tone, allowing the performers to explore the expressive potential of the strings. The “Menuetto: Allegretto” is a graceful and elegant dance that highlights Mozart’s ability to infuse classical forms with vitality. The quintet concludes with the “Allegro ma non troppo,” a movement that balances energy and restraint, leaving the audience with a sense of exuberant sophistication.

Following Mozart, the program continues with Maurice Ravel’s Sonata for Violin and Cello. Composed in 1920-1922, this piece is a testament to Ravel’s innovative spirit and his association with the artistic collective known as Les Apaches. The sonata is notable for its exploration of timbre and texture, as well as its departure from traditional harmonic language. The first movement, “Allegro,” sets a dynamic and engaging dialogue between the violin and cello. The second movement, “Très vif,” is characterized by its lively and spirited exchanges, demanding precision and agility from the performers. In contrast, the third movement, “Lent,” offers a serene and contemplative interlude, emphasizing the lyrical capabilities of both instruments. The final movement, “Vif, avec entrain,” brings the sonata to a vigorous and spirited conclusion, highlighting Ravel’s innovative approach to chamber music.

The concert reaches its grand finale with Johannes Brahms’s String Sextet No. 2 in G Major, Op. 36. Composed in 1864-1865, this sextet is a quintessential example of Brahms’s impassioned romanticism and his mastery of chamber music. The first movement, “Allegro non troppo,” introduces a lush and expansive theme, showcasing Brahms’s talent for creating rich, interwoven textures. The second movement, “Scherzo: Allegro non troppo,” offers a playful and rhythmically intricate contrast, filled with dynamic interplay among the six instruments. The “Poco Adagio” is the emotional core of the sextet, a movement imbued with a profound sense of longing and introspection. The final movement, “Poco Allegro,” brings the piece to an uplifting and spirited close, highlighting Brahms’s ability to balance complexity with accessibility.

Meet the Musicians

The ensemble for this concert features a roster of distinguished musicians, each bringing their unique artistry and expertise to the performance.

Maria Wloszczowska (violin) is a celebrated violinist known for her expressive playing and technical brilliance. A laureate of numerous international competitions, Wloszczowska has performed as a soloist and chamber musician across Europe and beyond. Her interpretations are marked by a deep understanding of the repertoire and a commitment to musical excellence.

Pablo Hernán Benedí (violin) is an esteemed violinist recognized for his dynamic and passionate performances. As a member of the renowned Chiaroscuro Quartet, Benedí has gained acclaim for his interpretations of classical and romantic works. His collaborative spirit and technical prowess make him a standout performer in any ensemble.

Tim Crawford (violin) is a versatile and accomplished violinist, celebrated for his engaging performances and dedication to both contemporary and traditional repertoire. Crawford’s contributions to the chamber music scene have been widely praised, and his ability to communicate with both audiences and fellow musicians is a hallmark of his artistry.

Michel Camille (viola) brings a wealth of experience and a profound musicality to the ensemble. As an accomplished violist and the Artistic Director of the Esbjerg International Chamber Music Festival, Camille’s leadership and vision have been instrumental in shaping the festival’s artistic direction.

Hélène Clément (viola) is known for her warm tone and expressive playing. As a member of the Doric String Quartet, Clément has performed at prestigious venues and festivals worldwide. Her interpretations are noted for their depth and sensitivity, making her a highly sought-after chamber musician.

Pau Codina (cello) is an exceptional cellist whose performances are characterized by their emotional intensity and technical precision. Codina’s artistry has been recognized with numerous awards, and he continues to captivate audiences with his nuanced and powerful interpretations.

Eddie Pogossian (cello) is a rising star in the classical music world, known for his dynamic stage presence and virtuosic playing. Pogossian’s performances are marked by a deep emotional connection to the music, and he brings a fresh and engaging perspective to the ensemble.

“Brahms: Impassioned Romanticism” promises to be a memorable concert, offering audiences a chance to experience the profound emotional range and technical brilliance of some of the greatest works in the chamber music repertoire. With an exceptional lineup of musicians and a thoughtfully curated program, this concert at the Syddansk Musikkonservatorium in Esbjerg is not to be missed. Join us on Sunday, August 25, 2024, at 4 pm for an unforgettable afternoon of music.

Maria Wloszczowska, Pablo Hernán Benedí, Tim Crawford – violin, Michel Camille, Hélène Clément – viola, Pau Codina, Eddie Pogossian – cello
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quintet in C Major, K. 515
I.   Allegro
II.  Andante
III. Menuetto: Allegretto
IV. Allegro ma non troppo

Maurice Ravel: Sonata for Violin and Cello
I.  Allegro
II. Très vif
III. Lent
IV. Vif, avec entrain

Johannes Brahms: String Sextet No. 2 in G major, Op. 36
I.   Allegro non troppo
II.  Scherzo: Allegro non troppo
III. Poco Adagio
IV. Poco Allegro

en_GBEnglish (UK)