Skip to main content

Ravel. “Les Apaches”

Nordby Church, Fanø. Thursday 22nd August 2024 at 7.30 pm

SINGLE TICKETS All-inclusive Festival Ticket KR. 700,-

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quintet No. 4 in G minor, K. 516

Maurice Ravel: Sonata for Violin and Cello

Erich Wolfgang Korngold: Sextet for Strings in D Major, Op. 10

Ravel. “Les Apaches”

On Thursday, 22nd August 2024, at 7:30 PM, the Klassisk Sommer Festival will present a concert titled “Ravel. Les Apaches” at Nordby Church, Fanø. This event will feature performances by some of the most talented musicians in the classical music world, showcasing works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Maurice Ravel, and Erich Wolfgang Korngold.

The evening will begin with Mozart’s String Quintet No. 4 in G minor, K. 516, a profound and introspective work composed during a period of personal turmoil for Mozart. The quintet is a journey through a range of emotions, beginning with a dramatic Allegro, followed by a graceful Menuetto, a poignant Adagio ma non troppo, and concluding with an Adagio that transitions into a spirited Allegro. The performance promises to capture the depth and beauty of Mozart’s music, bringing it to life in the intimate setting of Nordby Church.

Following Mozart, the program will feature Ravel’s Sonata for Violin and Cello, a work that reflects the influence of the “Les Apaches” group, which sought to break free from traditional musical forms. Written in the aftermath of World War I, this sonata showcases the conversational interplay between the violin and cello, with innovative textures and harmonies that highlight Ravel’s mastery of form and his ability to convey complex emotions. The four movements—Allegro, Très vif, Lent, and Vif, avec entrain—will be performed by Maria Wloszczowska and Pau Codina, whose dynamic chemistry and technical prowess promise to bring Ravel’s vision to life.

The evening will conclude with Korngold’s Sextet for Strings in D Major, Op. 10, a lush, romantic work composed when Korngold was just 17 years old. This piece foreshadows his later success as a Hollywood composer, with its lyrical Moderato, deeply expressive Adagio, playful Intermezzo, and energetic Finale. The sextet will be performed by a stellar ensemble, including Pablo Hernán Benedí, Tim Crawford, Michel Camille, Hélène Clément, Pau Codina, and Eddie Pogossian. Their combined talents and deep understanding of the repertoire will ensure a performance that is both technically brilliant and emotionally resonant.

The musicians featured in this concert are all renowned for their skill and artistry. Maria Wloszczowska, a Polish violinist, is known for her expressive playing and technical mastery. She has performed extensively across Europe and has won numerous international competitions. Her interpretations are marked by a deep understanding of the repertoire and a passion for chamber music.

Spanish violinist Pablo Hernán Benedí is celebrated for his dynamic performances and versatile musicianship. As a member of the award-winning Chiaroscuro Quartet, he has gained acclaim for his interpretations of both classical and contemporary works. His style combines precision with an emotive touch that captivates audiences.

British violinist Tim Crawford has established himself as a prominent figure in the chamber music scene. A graduate of the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, Tim has performed with various ensembles, including the Doric String Quartet. His performances are noted for their clarity and insightful interpretations.

British/Finnish violist Michel Camille brings a wealth of experience and a refined sense of musicality to his performances. As both a soloist and a chamber musician, he has appeared at major festivals around the world. His playing is characterized by its warmth and lyrical quality.

Hélène Clément, also a French violist, is known for her rich tone and expressive phrasing. She has performed with leading orchestras and chamber groups and is a member of the Doric String Quartet. Hélène’s approach to music is both sensitive and powerful, making her a sought-after performer.

Catalan cellist Pau Codina is recognized for his robust technique and engaging stage presence. A graduate of the Yehudi Menuhin School and the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, Pau has performed as a soloist and chamber musician across Europe. His playing is marked by a deep connection to the music and a compelling sense of narrative.

American cellist Eddie Pogossian is an emerging talent known for his vibrant performances and technical prowess. He has won several prestigious competitions and has appeared at renowned festivals. Eddie’s musicianship is distinguished by its intensity and communicative power.

The concert “Ravel. Les Apaches” at the Klassisk Sommer Festival is a celebration of musical innovation and artistic collaboration. The program, featuring works by Mozart, Ravel, and Korngold, offers a rich tapestry of emotions and styles, brought to life by a stellar ensemble of musicians. This event promises to be a highlight of the festival, providing audiences with an unforgettable evening of chamber music at its finest.

Maria Wloszczowska, Pablo Hernán Benedí, Tim Crawford – violin, Michel Camille, Hélène Clément – viola, Pau Codina, Eddie Pogossian – cello

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quintet No. 4 in G minor, K. 516
I. Allegro
II. Menuetto: Allegretto
III. Adagio ma non troppo
IV. Adagio – Allegro

Maurice Ravel: Sonata for Violin and Cello
I. Allegro
II. Très vif
III. Lent
IV. Vif, avec entrain

Erich Wolfgang Korngold: Sextet for Strings in D Major, Op. 10
I. Moderato
II. Adagio
III. Intermezzo: Allegro molto
IV. Finale: Allegro

en_GBEnglish (UK)