Skip to main content

The Metamorphosis

Nordby Church, Fanø. Thursday 15th August 2024 at 7.30 pm

SINGLE TICKETS All-inclusive Festival Ticket KR. 700,-

Richard Strauss: Capriccio, String Sextet, Op. 85

Roxanna Panufnik: Hora Bessarabia for Violin and Double Bass

Eugène Ysaÿe: Trio “Le Londres” for Two Violins and Viola

Richard Strauss: Metamorphosen for String Septet

The Metamorphosis

The Klassisk Sommer Festival is thrilled to present “The Metamorphosis,” an evocative concert on Thursday, August 15th, 2024, at 7:30 pm in Nordby Church, Fanø. This program celebrates the beauty and emotional depth of Romantic chamber music through a carefully curated selection of works by Richard Strauss, Roxanna Panufnik, and Eugène Ysaÿe.

Program Highlights

The concert begins with Richard Strauss’s “Capriccio, String Sextet, Op. 85,” an elegant piece known for its lyrical introduction and intricate interplay between the strings. This composition sets a refined and evocative tone for the evening, inviting the audience into the world of Romanticism.

Next, the program features Roxanna Panufnik’s “Hora Bessarabia” for violin and double bass. Panufnik’s work is inspired by Bessarabian folk music, characterized by vibrant rhythms and haunting melodies. The dialogue between the violin and double bass creates a dynamic and evocative soundscape, reflecting the cultural richness of Bessarabia.

Following Panufnik’s piece is Eugène Ysaÿe’s “Trio ‘Le Londres’” for two violins and viola. This composition showcases Ysaÿe’s virtuosic and expressive style. The trio, consisting of two movements, highlights the technical prowess and emotional depth of the musicians. The majestic “Prelude: Poco lento – Maestoso” and the fiery “Allegro vivo e con fuoco” demonstrate the intricate writing and the performers’ virtuosity.

The concert concludes with Richard Strauss’s “Metamorphosen” for string septet, a profound and somber work composed during the final years of World War II. This piece is characterized by its rich textures and emotional depth, serving as a powerful and moving finale for the evening.

The Musicians

The performance features an exceptional ensemble of musicians, each bringing their unique artistry and experience to the stage.

Alexi Kenney (violin) is renowned for his technical brilliance and expressive playing. A recipient of the Avery Fisher Career Grant, Kenney has performed with major orchestras and in prestigious concert halls worldwide.

Tim Crawford (violin) is a versatile musician with a deep passion for both historical and contemporary music. His sensitive and stylistically authentic performances make him a sought-after artist in the chamber music scene.

Maja Horvat (violin) is known for her vibrant and dynamic presence. With numerous awards and accolades, Horvat’s playing is characterized by its warmth and lyrical beauty, earning her collaborations with leading musicians.

Michel Camille (viola), the Artistic Director of the Esbjerg International Chamber Music Festival, is celebrated for his nuanced and insightful performances. His expertise and dedication to chamber music have garnered acclaim from audiences and critics alike.

Hélène Clément (viola) brings a rich, velvety tone and expressive interpretations to the ensemble. Her distinguished career includes performances at major festivals and concert series worldwide, exploring the depths of the viola repertoire.

Isidora Timotijevic (viola) is recognized for her rich, velvety tone and expressive interpretations. Her commitment to the viola repertoire has led to a distinguished career, highlighted by performances at major festivals and concert series worldwide.

Pau Codina (cello) is a cellist of remarkable talent and versatility. With a broad repertoire ranging from Baroque to contemporary music, Codina’s performances are marked by technical precision and emotional intensity, making him a regular performer at prestigious venues and festivals.

Eddie Pogossian (cello) brings youthful energy and fresh perspective to the ensemble. His bold and creative playing has earned him recognition as one of the most promising young cellists of his generation, with numerous successful performances in both solo and chamber music settings.

Kristina Edin (double bass) anchors the ensemble with her solid and resonant playing. Her expertise in orchestral and chamber music settings makes her a versatile and reliable musician, seamlessly blending with the other string players to add depth and richness to the overall sound.

“The Metamorphosis” concert offers a diverse and engaging program that showcases the exceptional talents of these musicians. From the lyrical elegance of Strauss’s sextet to the vibrant rhythms of Panufnik’s “Hora Bessarabia,” and from the virtuosity of Ysaÿe’s trio to the profound emotional depth of Strauss’s “Metamorphosen,” this concert promises to be an unforgettable experience. Whether you are a seasoned chamber music aficionado or a newcomer to the genre, the evening’s performances will leave a lasting impression, celebrating the transformative power of music.

Richard Strauss: Capriccio, String Sextet, Op. 85


Roxanna Panufnik: Hora Bessarabia for Violin and Double Bass
Single movement piece

Eugène Ysaÿe: Trio “Le Londres” for Two Violins and Viola
Prelude: Poco lento – Maestoso
Allegro vivo e con fuoco

Richard Strauss: Metamorphosen for String Septet

en_GBEnglish (UK)