Skip to main content

Timeless Mozart

Nordby Church, Fanø. Wednesday 21st August 2024 at 7.30 pm

SINGLE TICKETS All-inclusive Festival Ticket KR. 700,-

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quintet in C Major, K. 515

Frank Bridge: Lament for 2 Violas

Johannes Brahms: String Sextet No. 2 in G major, Op. 36

Timeless Mozart

The upcoming concert, “Timeless Mozart,” part of the Klassisk Sommer Festival, will be held at Nordby Church, Fanø, on Wednesday, 21st August 2024, at 7:30 pm. The program is a celebration of classical music, featuring works by Mozart, Frank Bridge, and Brahms, performed by a distinguished ensemble of musicians.

The concert opens with Mozart’s String Quintet in C Major, K. 515, a masterpiece composed during a particularly fertile period in Mozart’s career. This quintet, characterized by its rich textures and intricate interplay among the instruments, offers a glimpse into Mozart’s genius. Its first movement, Allegro, presents a vibrant and energetic dialogue, while the Andante, the second movement, contrasts with a more lyrical and introspective tone. The third movement, Menuetto: Allegretto, brings a dance-like quality to the piece, and the final movement, Allegro ma non troppo, concludes with a dynamic and spirited finish.

Following Mozart, the program features Frank Bridge’s Lament for 2 Violas, a poignant and expressive piece that showcases the emotional depth and versatility of the viola. This work, though brief, leaves a lasting impression through its mournful melodies and rich harmonies, providing a stark but beautiful contrast to the classical structure of Mozart’s quintet.

The concert concludes with Brahms’s String Sextet No. 2 in G Major, Op. 36, a piece renowned for its lush, romantic textures and complex interplay among the six instruments. The first movement, Allegro non troppo, sets a relaxed yet intricate tone, while the Scherzo: Allegro non troppo, the second movement, adds a playful and rhythmic element. The third movement, Poco Adagio, is deeply expressive and lyrical, showcasing Brahms’s ability to convey profound emotion through music. The final movement, Poco Allegro, wraps up the piece with a lively and joyful conclusion.

The ensemble performing these works comprises some of the finest musicians in the international classical music scene.

Maria Wloszczowska is a Polish violinist known for her passionate and nuanced performances. She has garnered acclaim for her work with various renowned orchestras and her solo recitals, which have been praised for their technical precision and emotional depth.

Pablo Hernán Benedí, a Spanish violinist, brings a vibrant energy to his performances. He is celebrated for his dynamic stage presence and his ability to bring out the subtleties in the music he plays.

Tim Crawford, a British violinist, is noted for his versatility and his commitment to both contemporary and classical repertoire. His interpretations are marked by their clarity and expressive power.

Michel Camille, a violist and the Artistic Director of the festival, is known for his rich, warm tone and his leadership in chamber music. His performances are characterised by their depth of expression and technical excellence.

Hélène Clément, also a violist, is recognized for her lyrical playing and her ability to convey a wide range of emotions through her instrument. Her performances have been described as both intimate and powerful.

Pau Codina, a cellist from Spain, is admired for his lyrical phrasing and robust technique. His playing is noted for its emotional intensity and his ability to connect with audiences on a deep level.

Eddie Pogossian, an Armenian-American cellist, is known for his passionate and expressive playing. His performances are characterised by their technical brilliance and emotional depth, making him a standout in the world of chamber music.

This ensemble promises to deliver a performance that is both technically proficient and deeply moving, providing the audience with an unforgettable evening of classical music. The combination of Mozart’s timeless elegance, Bridge’s heartfelt lament, and Brahms’s rich romanticism ensures a varied and captivating program.

The concert not only highlights the technical prowess of the musicians but also their ability to convey the emotional and narrative depth of the pieces they perform. Each musician brings their unique style and interpretation to the ensemble, creating a cohesive yet diverse musical experience. The intimate setting of Nordby Church further enhances the evening, providing an acoustically rich environment that complements the intricate and expressive nature of the program.

In summary, “Timeless Mozart” is set to be a highlight of the Klassisk Sommer Festival, offering a program that spans the emotional and technical spectrum of classical music, performed by a group of internationally acclaimed musicians. This concert is a must-see for classical music enthusiasts and promises to be a memorable and enriching experience.

Maria Wloszczowska, Pablo Hernán Benedí, Tim Crawford – violin, Michel Camille, Hélène Clément – viola, Pau Codina, Eddie Pogossian – cello

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quintet in C Major, K. 515
I.   Allegro
II.  Andante
III. Menuetto: Allegretto
IV. Allegro ma non troppo

Frank Bridge: Lament for 2 Violas

Johannes Brahms: String Sextet No. 2 in G major, Op. 36
I.   Allegro non troppo
II.  Scherzo: Allegro non troppo
III. Poco Adagio
IV. Poco Allegro

en_GBEnglish (UK)