Skip to main content
my portrait, Poulenc

“My music is my portrait”, Poulenc

Nordby Church, Fanø. Thursday 1st August 2024 at 7.30 pm

SINGLE TICKETS All-inclusive Festival Ticket KR. 700,-

Francis Poulenc: Sonata for Oboe and Piano

Daniel Schnyder: Sonata for Bassoon and Piano

Charles Martin Loeffler: Two Rhapsodies for Oboe, Viola, and Piano

Johannes Brahms: Trio in A Minor, Op. 114 for  Viola, Bassoon and Piano

“My music is my portrait”, Poulenc

The concert “My Music is My Portrait” dedicated to Francis Poulenc, promises a captivating evening of chamber music at the Klassisk Sommer Festival. Set in the historic Nordby Church on Fanø, the concert takes place on Thursday, 1st August 2024, at 7:30 pm. The program features works by Poulenc, Schnyder, Loeffler, and Brahms, showcasing a rich tapestry of styles and periods.

Francis Poulenc’s “Sonata for Oboe and Piano” opens the concert, reflecting the composer’s unique ability to blend wit and melancholy. This sonata, composed shortly before Poulenc’s death, is one of his last works. The first movement, “Elégie,” is a lyrical lament, showcasing Poulenc’s melodic gift and sensitivity to the oboe’s expressive potential. The second movement, “Scherzo,” contrasts sharply with its lively and playful character. The final movement, “Déploration,” returns to a more reflective mood, closing the sonata with profound emotional depth.

Next on the program is Daniel Schnyder’s “Sonata for Bassoon and Piano.” Schnyder, a contemporary composer known for his eclectic style, combines elements of jazz, classical, and world music. His bassoon sonata is a dynamic and technically demanding piece that highlights the instrument’s versatility. The interplay between the bassoon and piano creates a rich texture, with moments of lyrical beauty and rhythmic drive.

The concert continues with Charles Martin Loeffler’s “Two Rhapsodies for Oboe, Viola, and Piano.” Loeffler, an American composer of French origin, was influenced by the Impressionist movement. The first rhapsody, “L’Étang” (The Pond), evokes a serene and mysterious atmosphere, with the oboe and viola weaving intricate melodic lines over a shimmering piano accompaniment. The second rhapsody, “La Cornemuse” (The Bagpipe), features a rustic, folk-like character, highlighting Loeffler’s ability to blend traditional elements with sophisticated harmonies.

The evening concludes with Johannes Brahms’ “Trio in A Minor, Op. 114 for Viola, Bassoon, and Piano.” Composed in the late 19th century, this trio is one of Brahms’ mature works, characterized by its rich textures and emotional depth. The first movement, “Allegro,” is marked by its passionate and sweeping melodies. The second movement, “Adagio,” provides a lyrical and introspective contrast. The third movement, “Andantino Grazioso,” offers a lighter, more playful character, leading into the vigorous final movement, “Allegro.”

The performers for this evening are a distinguished group of musicians, each bringing their unique artistry to the stage. Michel Camille, the artistic director of the festival, will be performing on the viola. Camille, originally from England, has a distinguished career as a chamber musician and soloist. His interpretations are noted for their expressive depth and technical precision.

David Daniel Dinu, playing the oboe, hails from Romania. Dinu is celebrated for his virtuosic technique and rich, warm tone. He has performed extensively throughout Europe and has been praised for his nuanced interpretations and dynamic stage presence.

Antti Salovaara, the bassoonist for the evening, comes from Finland. Salovaara is known for his versatility and ability to bring out the full range of the bassoon’s expressive capabilities. His performances are characterized by their technical brilliance and musical sensitivity.

Kristoffer Hyldig, the Danish pianist, completes the ensemble. Hyldig is renowned for his exceptional artistry and has a broad repertoire ranging from the classical to contemporary. His collaborative skills and insightful interpretations make him a sought-after chamber musician.

This concert not only highlights the works of Poulenc but also brings together compositions from different eras and styles, providing a comprehensive and enriching musical experience. The combination of these talented musicians and the carefully curated program promises an evening of exceptional music-making, celebrating the diverse and expressive potential of chamber music.

For those interested in experiencing this unique concert, tickets are available both individually and as part of an all-inclusive festival pass. Attendees are encouraged to arrive early to enjoy the serene setting of Nordby Church and to fully immerse themselves in the evening’s performances. This concert is a testament to the enduring power of chamber music to connect audiences with the profound emotional landscapes created by composers across the centuries.

Francis Poulenc: Sonata for Oboe and Piano
I. Elégie
II. Scherzo
III. Déploration

Daniel Schnyder: Sonata for Bassoon and Piano

Charles Martin Loeffler: Two Rhapsodies for Oboe, Viola, and Piano
I. L’Étang (The Pond)
II. La Cornemuse (The Bagpipe)

Johannes Brahms: Trio in A Minor, Op. 114 for  Viola, Bassoon and Piano
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Andantino Grazioso
IV. Allegro

Michel Camille – viola, David Daniel Dinu – oboe, Antti Salovaara – bassoon, Kristoffer Hyldig – piano
en_GBEnglish (UK)