Skip to main content

The first Romantic: Franz Schubert and Friends

Nordby Church, Fanø. Wednesday 31st July 2024 at 7.30 pm

SINGLE TICKETS All-inclusive Festival Ticket KR. 700,-

Franz Schubert: Sonata in A minor for Viola and Piano, D. 821, “Arpeggione”

Camille Saint-Saëns: Bassoon Sonata in G major, Op. 168

Francis Poulenc: Trio for Piano, Oboe, and Bassoon, Op. 114

The first Romantic: Franz Schubert and Friends

The concert “Franz Schubert and Friends” is set to take place at Nordby Church, Fanø, on Wednesday, 31st July 2024, at 7:30 pm as part of the Klassisk Sommer Festival. This evening will feature an impressive line-up of compositions and performances by world-class musicians: Michel Camille (viola), David Daniel Dinu (oboe), Antti Salovaara (bassoon), and Kristoffer Hyldig (piano).

Michel Camille – Viola
Michel Camille, the festival’s Artistic Director, hails from England. A renowned violist, Michel has a rich history of performances across Europe and beyond. His interpretations of classical and romantic repertoire are noted for their depth and expressiveness. As an advocate for chamber music, Michel has been instrumental in curating and leading festivals that celebrate this intimate form of music-making. His performances are characterized by a profound connection to the music and an ability to communicate its emotional core to the audience.

David Daniel Dinu – Oboe
Romanian oboist David Daniel Dinu is celebrated for his virtuosic skill and lyrical playing. Having studied with some of the most esteemed oboists in the world, David’s career includes performances with leading orchestras and chamber ensembles. His playing is often described as both technically impeccable and deeply musical, bringing a distinctive voice to the oboe repertoire. David’s commitment to both traditional and contemporary works has made him a versatile and sought-after performer in the classical music scene.

Antti Salovaara – Bassoon
Antti Salovaara from Finland is an accomplished bassoonist known for his dynamic and engaging performances. With a repertoire that spans baroque to modern, Antti’s versatility as a performer is matched by his dedication to the bassoon’s role in chamber music. His interpretations of works by Saint-Saëns and other composers are particularly noted for their clarity and elegance. Antti’s contributions to the chamber music world are marked by his collaborative spirit and his ability to bring out the unique timbres of the bassoon in ensemble settings.

Kristoffer Hyldig – Piano
Danish pianist Kristoffer Hyldig is a prominent figure in the Scandinavian classical music community. His performances are lauded for their technical mastery and emotional depth. Kristoffer’s repertoire is extensive, covering works from the classical era to contemporary compositions. His collaborative work with other musicians showcases his ability to blend seamlessly into various musical textures, providing both support and leadership as required. Kristoffer’s nuanced approach to piano playing makes him a favorite among audiences and critics alike.

Concert Highlights:
The evening’s program is designed to highlight the rich timbral qualities of the featured instruments—viola, oboe, and bassoon—alongside the piano. Each piece offers a unique perspective on the chamber music genre, from the romantic expressiveness of Schubert’s “Arpeggione” Sonata to the witty and playful exchanges in Poulenc’s Trio for Piano, Oboe, and Bassoon.

Franz Schubert’s Sonata in A minor for Viola and Piano, D. 821**, commonly known as the “Arpeggione” Sonata, is a cornerstone of the viola repertoire. Composed in 1824, it was originally written for the arpeggione, a now-obsolete string instrument. The sonata’s lyrical melodies and intricate interplay between viola and piano make it a favorite among performers and listeners alike.

Camille Saint-Saëns’ Bassoon Sonata in G major, Op. 168 showcases the bassoon’s capabilities beyond its traditional orchestral role. Composed in 1921, this sonata reflects Saint-Saëns’ classical style infused with late romantic sensibilities. The piece demands both technical precision and expressive depth from the bassoonist, supported by a richly textured piano accompaniment.

Francis Poulenc’s Trio for Piano, Oboe, and Bassoon, Op. 114 is a brilliant example of 20th-century chamber music. Composed in 1926, the trio is known for its charm, wit, and rhythmic vitality. Poulenc’s unique voice shines through in the playful dialogues and lyrical passages, making it a delightful and engaging work for both performers and audiences.

This concert is not just a presentation of beautiful music but a testament to the enduring appeal and versatility of chamber music. The selection of pieces spans different eras and styles, offering a comprehensive look at the development of this genre. The musicians’ expertise and passion promise to bring these works to life in a way that resonates with both connoisseurs and new listeners.

Join us for an unforgettable evening that celebrates the rich heritage and vibrant future of chamber music, featuring some of the finest musicians in the field today.

Franz Schubert: Sonata in A minor for Viola and Piano, D. 821, “Arpeggione”
I.  Allegro moderato
II. Adagio
III. Allegretto

Camille Saint-Saëns: Bassoon Sonata in G major, Op. 168
I.  Allegro moderato
II.  Allegro scherzando
III. Molto adagio – Allegro moderato

Francis Poulenc: Trio for Piano, Oboe, and Bassoon, Op. 114
I. Presto
II. Andante
III. Rondo

Michel Camille – viola, David Daniel Dinu – oboe, Antti Salovaara – bassoon, Kristoffer Hyldig – piano

en_GBEnglish (UK)